Procedural aspects of the organization of the comprehensive European Board of Ophthalmology Diploma examination

Danny G. P. Mathysen*, Peter J. Ringens, Edoardo Midena, Artur Klett, Gordana Sunaric-Megevand, Rafael Martinez-Costa, Denise Curtin, Marie-Jose Tassignon, Wagih Aclimandos, Catherine Creuzot-Garcher, Christina Grupcheva

*Corresponding author for this work

Research output: Contribution to journalArticleAcademicpeer-review

1 Citation (Web of Science)


The comprehensive European Board of Ophthalmology Diploma (EBOD) examination is one of 38 European medical specialty examinations. This review aims at disclosing the specific procedures and content of the EBOD examination. It is a descriptive study summarizing the present organization of the EBOD examination. It is the 3rd largest European postgraduate medical assessment after anaesthesiology and cardiology. The master language is English for the Part 1 written test (knowledge test with 52 modified type X multiple-choice questions) (in the past the written test was also available in French and German). Ophthalmology training of minimum 4 years in a full or associated European Union of Medical Specialists (UEMS) member state is a prerequisite. Problem-solving skills are tested in the Part 2 oral assessment, which is a viva of 4 subjects conducted in English with support for native language whenever feasible. The comprehensive EBOD examination is one of the leading examinations organized by UEMS European Boards or Specialist Sections from the point of number of examinees, item banking, and item contents.
Original languageEnglish
Article number27
JournalJournal of educational evaluation for health professions
Publication statusPublished - 26 Jul 2016


  • Disclosure
  • Europe
  • Language
  • Ophthalmology
  • Specialization

Cite this