1996 …2023

Research activity per year

If you made any changes in Pure these will be visible here soon.

Personal profile

Research interests

Pim Martens has a PhD in applied mathematics and biological sciences and holds the chair ‘Sustainable Development' at Maastricht University. He is Senior Fellow in the Ethics of the Anthropocene Program at the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam and member of the Dutch Royal Academy of Science’s Planetary Health Committee. He is the Founding Director of the Maastricht University Graduate School of Sustainability Science (MUST), and initiated the M.Sc. program Sustainability Science and Policy. Prof. Martens is project-leader and principal investigator of several projects related to sustainability science and education, in the context of human-animal-nature relationships, and environmental (climate) change and health. 


Pim Martens is member of the Editorial Boards of the scientific journals BioScience, Sustainability: The Journal of Record, and Current Opinion in Environmental Sustainability. Furthermore, he serves as a member of the Advisory Board of the Life Science Zurich Graduate School, the Advisory Board (StAB) of the Natural Resources Institute in Finland, and the Executive Board House of Animals. For 9 years, he has been the director of the International Centre for Integrated assessment and Sustainable development (ICIS), Maastricht University, and was member of the Dutch Health Council.

Pim Martens is founder of AnimalWise, a “think and do tank” integrating scientific knowledge and animal advocacy to bring about sustainable change in our relationship with animals, and member of the board of The House of Animals.

Finally, Dr. Martens is a Fulbright New Century Scholar within the programme 'Health in a Borderless World' and winner of the Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel-Forschungspreis. Pim Martens has been a Leverhulme professor at Aberystwyth University, Wales, a research professor at ETH Zürich, Switzerland and Leuphana University Lüneburg (Germany), and visiting scholar at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine (UK), Harvard University (USA), Heidelberg University, (Germany), ETH Zürich (Switzerland), Aberystwyth University (Wales), Leuphana University Lüneburg (Germany), and Shandong University (China).